2024 Appointments

To assist in this year’s appointment-making process, the Cabinet will now post clear openings for which pastors may apply. A clear opening is a church/charge with a pastoral vacancy due to retirement, death, or appointment of the current pastor to another mission field. See the information in the sidebar.

After prayer and consultation with the Cabinet, Bishop LaTrelle Miller Easterling has made the following appointments. 

  • Rev. Lillian Smith to be superintendent of the Altoona Supervisory Area of the Susquehanna Conference, from Cheverly UMC in Cheverly

Posted Feb. 19

  • Rev. Walter Beaudwin to Trinity UMC in Prince Frederick, from St. Andrews of Annapolis UMC in Edgewater
  • Rev. William Carpenter to Linganore UMC in Union Bridge, from the Greater Brunswick Charge (Doubs-Epworth UMC and Jefferson UMC)
  • Rev. Laurie Tingley to Havre de Grace UMC in Havre de Grace, from Mays Chapel UMC in Timonium

Posted Jan. 25

  • Rev. Mary Ka Kanahan to St. Paul’s and Gaither UMC, in Skyesville, effective Feb. 1, from St. John United in Columbia
  • Rev. Doug Tzan to Extension Ministry at Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington, D.C. (effective Summer 2023), from Sykesville Parish

Posted Jan. 8

  • Jean Squires to the Hancock Area Cooperative Parish (Catalpa/Piney Plains UMC)
  • Rev. Becki Wessinger to the Hancock Area Cooperative Parish (Hancock UMC), from Hancock UMC
  • Rev. Daryl Williams to Extension Ministry at The Kingdom Network in Calverton

Posted Jan. 2, 2024

  • Rev. Peggy Ireland, Interim Pastor to Emmanuel UMC in Huntingtown, from Jan 1 - June 30, 2024.
  • Rev. Tony Love, Interim Pastor to St Paul UMC in Oxon Hill, from Jan 1 - June 30, 2024
Clergy Retiree Class of 2024 

Patricia Allen
Gayle Annis-Forder    
Kevin Baker (effective Jan. 1, 2024) 
Judith Bennett 
R. Lorraine Brown
Joan Carter-Rimbach (effective Jan. 1, 2024)
Jalene Chase
Richard Gibbs
Sonia King   
Michael McGowan  
Craig McLaughlin (effective Nov. 1, 2023) 
Martha Meredith 
Kermit Moore
Denise Norfleet-Walker 
Norman Obenshain   
Mary Ricketts (effective Jan. 1, 2024) 
Stephen Ricketts 
Edgardo Rivera 
Eddie Smith
Robert Snyder
Dorothea Stroman 
James Swecker 
Wendy van Vliet 
Lynn Wilson
Linda Yarrow  
Evan Young