News and Views

2023 Appointments

Posted by on

After prayer and consultation with the Cabinet, Bishop LaTrelle Miller Easterling has made the following appointments. Unless otherwise noted, all appointments on this page take effect on July 1, 2023.

Posted March 13

  • Rev. Mike Cantley, to Toms Creek UMC in Emmitsburg, from Martinsburg Cooperative Parish Ministry in Martinsburg, W/Va.
  • Rev. Jean H. Lee, to Deer Park UMC in Westminster, from Back River UMC in Essex 

Posted March 6

  • Rev. Keisha Dukes, to Christ UMC in Washington, D.C., from Richardson Park UMC in Wilmington, Del. (Pen/Del)
  • Pastor Beth Heller, to First Saints Community UMC in Leonardtown, from the Westside Parish in Stockton, Md. (Pen-Del)
  • Rev. Elizabeth Jackson, to Glenelg UMC, in Glenelg, effective Aug. 1

Posted February 20

  • Rev. Christine Kumar, to Memorial First India UMC in Silver Spring, from Towson UMC in Towson
  • Rev. Yongchi (Yo) Rhie, to Arbutus UMC in Arbutus

Posted February 13

  • Rev. Phil Ayers, to Damascus UMC in Damascus,  from Howard Chapel-Ridgeville in Mt. Airy
  • Rev. David Deans, to Extension Ministry, Experience Life Network,  from Glenelg UMC in Glenelg (Took effect Jan. 1, 2023)

Posted February 6

  • Rev. Mary Haggard, to The Norrisville Charge in Norrisville, from the Snow Hill Circuit in Peninsula-Delaware Conference
  • Rev. Carol Armstrong Moore, to Chevy Chase UMC in Chevy Chase, as interim from Feb. 1 through June 30
  • Rev. Katie Saari, to Chevy Chase UMC in Chevy Chase, from Nichols Bethel UMC in Odenton

Posted January 30

  • Laurel McNeal, to The Community Parish of Northern Baltimore County
  • Rev. Margery Schammel, to Perry Hall UMC in Perry Hall
  • Rev. Levon Sutton, to Lovely Lane UMC in Baltimore, from Grace UMC (Associate) in Baltimore
2023 Class of Clergy Retirees

(Unless otherwise noted, these retirements will take effect July 1, 2023.)
Valerie Barnes
Ira Barr
Cynthia Belt (1/1/2023)
Thomas Jay Blake
Cindy Caldwell
John H. Dean
David Deans
Lee Steer Ferrell
Lisa Franzen
Malcolm Frazier 
Gerard Americus Green
Victor Harner
Charles Michael Henning
Chris Holmes (4/1/2023)
Peggy Ireland
Joan Ann Jones
Daniel Theodor Kutrick
Jerry Lowans
Melissa McDade
Samson Yebuah Nortey
Donna Renn
Deborah Scott
Barbara Vivian Suffecool
Joseph Whalen (2/1/2023)
Kathryn Woodrow
Thomas E. Young, Jr. (5/1/2023)