Ministry of the Laity

Lay Servant Ministries logoIn the name of the wonderful God we serve, we are united as 169,000 lay people who serve a God of love and of possibility.

One of the strengths of our connectional system is the training we offer. The Board of Laity exists to enable you to be equipped, empowered and inspired to enthusiastically make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.

Conference Lay Leader
Delores Martin

District Lay Leaders

District Lay Leaders are elected leaders who provide for the training of local church lay leaders for ministries in the local church, are responsible for fostering awareness of the role of the laity in the church and community, and support active lay participation in the planning and decision-making of the district and local churches. They may serve as a lay member of the District Committee on Lay Servant Ministries, the Conference Committee on Lay Servant Ministries and the District Committee on Ordained Ministry. 

Learn more about who to contact about lay ministry.

The District Lay Leaders in the Baltimore-Washington Conference are as follows:

Annapolis District
Marilyn Lewis


Baltimore Metropolitan
Ophelia Brown-Carter


Baltimore Suburban
Barbara Dickson


Central Maryland
Geoff Kaiser


Richard Willson


Barbara Shew


Greater Washington
Mary McCurty


Washington East
Peggy Ireland