Board of Ordained Ministry

The Board of Ordained Ministry (BOOM) cultivates an environment for growth within the Baltimore-Washington Conference by calling spiritual leaders to sense and respond to God’s call to ministry. Clergy members of the conference receive support for ongoing professional development and encouragement to share their gifts with colleagues, congregations and the larger community.

BOOM works with the Order of Elders, chaired by Rev. Melissa Rudolph, the Order of Deacons, chaired by Rev. Margery Schammel, and the Fellowship of Local Pastors, led by Rev. Jerry Colbert.

The Rev. John W. Nupp serves as the director of the BOOM’s Center for Clergy Excellence, which links the BOOM to the office of the Bishop. Read more about the work of the Center for Clergy Encouragement in the monthly newsletter, “The Sower.”


BOOM Executive Committee

Rev. Anthony Hunt – chairperson
Rev. Amy McCullough – vice chairperson
Rev. Carletta Allen – secretary
Rev. Norman Obenshain – representative of the District Committees